Is He an Angel?

One ordinary morning, woke up at 6 am to prepare for school. Waited for my 7:17 bus near my apartment. It takes 10 minutes from the bus station to my assigned school on tha day. But I don’t know why I am so fond of getting of the bus 3 minutes before I reach my school. At first, I thought I just wanted to have a silent moment while eating my bread as I walk. But time passed by and realized that it was just actually an excuse.

The truth is, I was hoping to walk with the little first grader kid who walked with me before. And yes! On that day, I saw him again. I was glad he remembered me and greeted me with the innocent smile on his lovely face as he uttered the words “ohayou gozaimasu”. I answered him in English “Good morning;)” He was carrying his school bag with a light green cover as a sign that he is in the first grade, it is for safety reason as well especially when students have to cross the street. He had four empty cerial boxes in a plastic.

“What’s that for?” I asked while pointing at the boxes.

I was not sure if he understood me but he seemed to me that he did. He talked about his school while raising the boxes each time he wants to emphasize something about them. Because of my insufficient Japanese skill, I honestly did not understand him at all. I just nodded to show him that I was listening. Each time we saw a car, he would always talk about them with so much delight as if it was his first time to see cars. He even asked me “Nissan no maker nandeska? (Who makes Nissan cars?) Pertaining about the company. I was surprised because I was caught in the middle. I don’t know anything about cars… I only know what color is good. hahaha. So I said “Toyota?” with a very skeptical face. I asked him why he likes cars so much using my little knowledge in Japanese language. This time, I was sure I understood his Japanese well because I am already familiar with the words that he used. But I will just write here in English coz I can’t really discuss it in Japanese.

“No. I only like tires. They are so cool for me. They are incredible. I like watching them especially when the someone is about to park or about to speed up. I am fond of staring how the tires move from to slow to a faster motion.”

I was totally amazed with his answer. Well, yeah. Maybe that is how kids observe things.

We were just a few minute-walk away from the school when he saw a dead flower on the pathwalk we were walking at. By the loook of it, I was sure many people have stepped on it as it was so flattened and almost sticking on the ground. Its pink flower was still attached to its long green stalk though. He picked it up and gave to me while saying in Japanese ” Wow… it is very beautiful. I wanna give it to you” He handed it to me with a full smile. I took it, stared at it for a while but immediately put it to the pile of plants we passed by. That flower didn’t really amaze me. But his reaction does.

I felt like he could only see the beauty of things. I know that kids really have a very keen observation in every thing. But the way he looked and treated the flower is extra-ordinary. I have been teaching kids for a couple of years now and I know that they will just see that flower as a dead one and of no value. But not him. He looked and picked it up as if it is so fresh from a beautiful garden.

His words and way of thinking make me think if he really exists. Kids make me happy and excited. But him, he makes me feel so relaxed. I felt like I was talking to a good old man who already had learned a lot about life. I have never seen him with other kids despite his good characteristics. I even thought if he was an angel.

Well, it is not important anymore. I know in my heart that when I go to my school, eating in a silent moment while walking is not really the reason why I like to get off the bus sooner than I am supposed to do. The truth is, i found an angel in that little boy….

Published by Is it today Little Bird?

To be an author was once my dream in my innocence days. I didn't know what exactly the reason behind why I wanted to write something out of my imagination. Or maybe I knew, but I was just too naive to give any labels on it. But one thing is for sure, writing is something that I'm falling in love with over and over again.

Join the Conversation

3 Comments

      1. Absolutely you are right.. people when they grow old they forget the real identity of who they are.. there is an instance in our lives that we have to go back to our childhood identity in order to find our true self.:)

        Like

Leave a comment